What Is The Reset_SafeToDelete_OverwriteSpaceFile_0.tmp File Used For?
A huge temporary file may appear after using Windows factory reset or reinstallation.
Some people have told me that when upgrading a version of Windows or using system recovery, there was a delay in the procedure and also the creation of a strange temporary file called “Reset_SafeToDelete_OverwriteSpaceFile_0.tmp”.
This had happened to me when I had to use a Windows reinstall mode when selling a large 1Tb HD notebook.
The fact that one step took too long made me lose my temper and turn off the notebook.
Upon returning to Windows, I noticed that the hard disk space was small, with only 30 GB free of the 1000 GB disk.
When checking what happened, I saw that there was this exaggeratedly large file named “Reset_SafeToDelete_OverwriteSpaceFile_0.tmp” with the size of 902 GB!
But what is Reset_SafeToDelete_OverwriteSpaceFile_0.tmp?
This is a temporary file that Windows uses to place files while the system cleans up other areas of the hard drive that you can eventually use later.
Usually, this file is deleted after proper procedures, but in some cases and especially where I forced the system recovery steps to stop, it ended up keeping the file there.
Is it possible to delete this file?
Yes, it is possible and recommended as it will otherwise be occupying your storage unnecessarily.
You can open Explorer, go to drive C: or another drive where Windows is installed and delete it by holding Shift and then pressing Del or Delete so that the file is deleted permanently without going through the recycle bin.
Related: WHEA Uncorrectable Error
After that, I recommend using the Defragment and Optimize Units program, as a huge file that uses many clusters has been deleted from storage.
Read This Comment By A Friend…
“The same thing happened to me.
My PC is a Dell Inspiron 5557. System Restore had stopped at 43%. It was a long time, and I gave up: I forced the shutdown.
Luckily (I believe), the restoration skipped the percentage part and went to installing drivers and apps and then general settings. When checking Disk C: I saw that only 100 GB of 1Tb was free.
Thank you for handling the file clearly and directly, which, as the “Visitor” above said, made us afraid. I will start following the site.”